Downton Abbey – A Scene

Downton-Abbey-Cast-600x337

INT. DOWNTON ABBEY – DAY

LORD GRANTHAM is on the telephone.

LORD GRANTHAM
(puts down telephone receiver)
Good god. War has just been declared.

Enter MATTHEW in full military uniform.

MATTHEW
I’ve signed up and have just completed three months’ basic training.  I’m now going to say something that Mary will find offensive before I go off to The War.

MARY
I’m taking offence!

MARY turns her head away.

MATTHEW
I’m going off to The War.

MATTHEW exits.

LADY CORY GRANTHAM
Let’s turn Downton into a convalescence hospital for officers.

In the background, we see CARSON wheeling in a hospital bed.

MATTHEW re-enters the room.

MATTHEW
I’m back from The War. Now I’m going to make up to Mary before I go back to The War.

MARY
Oh, Matthew! All is forgiven. Please take my lucky gonk. And God speed!

MATTHEW
Actually, I’m now back from The War having already gone back to The War since the last time I came back from The War earlier in this scene. But now, I’m gravely injured and unconscious.

MARY
Oh, Matthew!

MATTHEW
It’s okay, because I’ve already recovered. And my fiance has conveniently died. So now we can totally be together.

MARY
Oh, Matthew!

The telephone rings. CARSON answers it and hands the receiver to LORD GRANTHAM who listens briefly.

LORD GRANTHAM
Good god. Peace has been declared. The War is over.

In the background, we see CARSON wheeling a hospital bed out of the house.

END SCENE.

2 responses to “Downton Abbey – A Scene

  1. Underbelly; Fat Tony & Co – A Scene

    Christine Nixon walks into Police Incident Room. Stands in front of other officers for a while (maybe trying to remember lines).

    “My name is Christine Nixon. I’ve just been appointed as Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police. There’s going to be some changes around here and not everyone’s going to like it.”

    Leaves.

    Except this actually appeared on TV. Someone got paid for writing it. I think you should be writing for the Underbelly series, Queen NDM The Best. You’d add some style and appropriate gravitas.

  2. Having just finished watching season 2 of Downton Abbey I feel you’ve summed the season brilliantly. Can you do season 3 so I don’t have to neglect my kids in order to watch it?

Leave a comment